The Heavy.pdf

The Heavy

Dara-Lynn Weiss

For readers of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and Bringing Up Bebe, a mothers unflinching memoir about helping her seven year-old daughter lose weight, and the challenges of modern parenting.

When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weisss daughter Bea obese at age seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how could a woman with her own food and body issues-not to mention spotty eating habits-successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity?

In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process-complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humor, and some surprising strategies-Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids self-esteem.

Compounding the challenge were eating environments-from school to restaurants to birthday parties-that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgments from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for parents. She was criticized as readily for enabling Beas condition as she was for enforcing the rigid limits necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing.

The damned if you do/damned if you dont predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the center of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity.

A touching and relatable story of loving a child enough to be unpopular, The Heavy will leave readers applauding Weisss success, her bravery, and her unconditional love for her daughter.

Advance praise for The Heavy

Have you ever been that mother? You know, the one who others criticize or question? If so, then you know what incredible courage and daring it can take to raise a child in a way that doesnt always meet other peoples expectations. Dara-Lynn Weiss is inspirational for her sheer will, her unwavering dedication, and her willingness to take accountability for her own actions. The Heavy is a stark look at imperfect parenting-and why our mistakes make us better parents.-Christine Carter, author of Raising Happiness

Dara-Lynn Weiss had to defy her childs school, the judgments of other parents, and our fast food culture to rescue her daughter from the epidemic of obesity. Parents should see this as an inspiration-and a wake-up call.-Amy Dickinson, Ask Amy advice columnist and author of The Mighty Queens of Freeville

The Heavy should be required reading for every parent because it tackles-with refreshing honesty-that universal question well all face: how to do whats best for our children, even when the kids resist our efforts and society judges our approach. Dara-Lynn Weiss has written a brave book and started a crucial and overdue national conversation.-Abigail Pogrebin, author of One and the Same and Stars of David

SAL Heavy Lift – We Innovate Solutions - Home SAL Heavy Lift is not one single office, but rather teams of dedicated people working across continents and time zones. Our offices are adjusting to their own situation as their governments dictate, but with a full contingency plan in place to keep themselves healthy, and fully functioning – whether in office or working from home. We have

9.59 MB DATEIGRÖSSE
ISBN
Englisch SPRACHE
The Heavy.pdf

Technik

PC und Mac

Lesen Sie das eBook direkt nach dem Herunterladen über "Jetzt lesen" im Browser, oder mit der kostenlosen Lesesoftware Adobe Digital Editions.

iOS & Android

Für Tablets und Smartphones: Unsere Gratis tolino Lese-App

Andere eBook Reader

Laden Sie das eBook direkt auf dem Reader im Hugendubel.de-Shop herunter oder übertragen Sie es mit der kostenlosen Software Sony READER FOR PC/Mac oder Adobe Digital Editions.

Reader

Öffnen Sie das eBook nach der automatischen Synchronisation auf dem Reader oder übertragen Sie es manuell auf Ihr tolino Gerät mit der kostenlosen Software Adobe Digital Editions.

Aktuelle Bewertungen

avatar
Sofia Voigt

HEAVY Magazine: News, Interviews, Gig Guide, …

avatar
Matteo Müller

Heavy | Definition of Heavy by Merriam-Webster Heavy definition is - having great weight; also : characterized by mass or weight. How to use heavy in a sentence. Synonym Discussion of heavy.

avatar
Noel Schulze

View: In the protracted fight against Covid-19, RBI has done all the heavy lifting to date. ET CONTRIBUTORS | Apr 17, 2020, 11.30 PM IST. View: In the ...

avatar
Jason Lehmann

The Official website for The Heavy. New album 'Sons' is out now and includes Heavy For You and Better As One. Watch the latest videos, sign up to the mailing list and view tour dates. HEAVY Magazine: News, Interviews, Gig Guide, …

avatar
Jessica Kohmann

Heavy Rescue: 401 (TV Series 2016– ) - IMDb