Jacques Maritain.pdf

Jacques Maritain

James V. Schall

The engaging and inquiring mind of French philosopher Jacques Maritain reflected on subjects as varied as art and ethics, theology and psychology, and history and metaphysics. Maritains work on the theoretical groundings of politics arose from his diverse studies. In this book, distinguished theologian and political scientist James V. Schall explores Maritains political philosophy, demonstrating that Maritain understood society, state, and government in the tradition of Aristotle and Aquinas, of natural law and human rights and duties. Schall pays particular attention to the ways in which evil appears in political forms, and how this evil can be morally dealt with. Schalls study will be of great importance to students and scholars of political science, philosophy, and theology.

T. S. Eliot once called Jacques Maritain "the most conspicuous figure and probably the most powerful force in contemporary philosophy." His wife and devoted intellectual companion, Raissa Maritain, was of Jewish descent but joined the Catholic church with him in 1906.

8.48 MB DATEIGRÖSSE
ISBN
Englisch SPRACHE
Jacques Maritain.pdf

Technik

PC und Mac

Lesen Sie das eBook direkt nach dem Herunterladen über "Jetzt lesen" im Browser, oder mit der kostenlosen Lesesoftware Adobe Digital Editions.

iOS & Android

Für Tablets und Smartphones: Unsere Gratis tolino Lese-App

Andere eBook Reader

Laden Sie das eBook direkt auf dem Reader im Hugendubel.de-Shop herunter oder übertragen Sie es mit der kostenlosen Software Sony READER FOR PC/Mac oder Adobe Digital Editions.

Reader

Öffnen Sie das eBook nach der automatischen Synchronisation auf dem Reader oder übertragen Sie es manuell auf Ihr tolino Gerät mit der kostenlosen Software Adobe Digital Editions.

Aktuelle Bewertungen

avatar
Sofia Voigt

American Maritain Association

avatar
Matteo Müller

Jacques Maritain, Roman Catholic philosopher, respected both for his interpretation of the thought of St. Thomas Aquinas and for his own Thomist philosophy. Reared a Protestant, Maritain attended the Sorbonne in Paris, where he was attracted by teachers who claimed that the natural sciences alone Jacques Maritain: Visionary or Leftist Ideologue ...

avatar
Noel Schulze

Jacques Maritain: The Philosopher in Society - 9780847686834 rowman.com/ISBN/9780847686834/Jacques-Maritain-The-Philosopher-in-Society 22 Mar 2020 ... The French Catholic philosopher Jacques Maritain (1882-1973) is credited with spotlighting Thomas Aquinas in our times, as well as being ...

avatar
Jason Lehmann

23 Mar 2020 ... There is no question that Jacques Maritain has had a profound impact upon Catholic intellectual life. But whata sort of impact was it?

avatar
Jessica Kohmann

Jacques Maritain's An Introduction to Philosophy was first published in 1931. Since then, this book has stood the test of time as a clear guide to what philosophy is and how to philosophize. Inspired by the Thomistic Revival called for by Leo XIII, Maritain relies heavily on Aristotle and St. Thomas Aquinas to shape a philosophy that, far from